Birthdays and Teenage Thoughts

I recently celebrated my birthday last month. I had a joint party with my amazingly cute baby cousin who shares the same birthday month.

857098_4412850404161_1018042284_o

My baby girl just always down to have a good time.

859590_4412852284208_1968518272_o

Everyone, make way for this child prodigy. Her future as a photographer is bright.

Everyone who is anyone was there (or in other words, all of my mom’s side of the family..)

It was a fun day filled with food and games and laughter and love. And more food : ) Plus, it was a lot better than last year’s family birthday party when I had a bad case of the stomach flu and looked half-conscious in all the pictures…. ANYWAY,

I remember at one point a few hours into the party, I took a step or two back from the scene and stole a quick glance around the room. I made a mental note to blog about this in the future (which, hello, hi, I’m doing now) because I felt a nice wave of teenage wisdom overcoming me at that moment and I had to share. Here it is:

My eyes were flooded with the familiar sight of all of my loved ones, all of whom had giant, dorky smiles that were plastered on their red (either from laughing too hard or drinking too much) faces. The sound of their impossibly shrill, yet nevertheless, incredibly comforting, laughter spread a feeling of warmth all over my body.

It wasn’t until I had stepped back that I really realized, “Wow… I love these people so freakin’ much.”

I know, I know.  You probably just shivered a bit and are now thinking, “Ew. You are totally cheesy, Michelle.”

But seriously! The feeling just kind of just hit me like a wonderfully passionate backhand slap to the face. My family is so great to me in so many ways and knowing that they love me the same amount that I love them is…totally awesome, to say at the very least.

As a child, I always assumed that everyone had a caring and loving family to rely on. However, over time, after being exposed to more realities of the world, as well as learning more about my friends’ familial backgrounds, I have come to realize that the word “family” doesn’t always induce the same feelings of warmth for everyone as it does for me.

Reading All Quiet On The Western Front especially helped me realize to make an effort to be more grateful for everything I have. The novel depicts life of a soldier fighting on the western front during World War I, capturing the character’s loss of humanly characteristics due to his deprivation of the pleasures in life.

Image

Disclaimer: I am not comparing myself to someone who fought in war. Please don’t think I’m being overly dramatic right now. I just… feel a war-like strength of love of my family. (Alright, I just needed to make some sort of connection to our class reading to get a good English grade, okay? But this in no way tampers with the reality of what I said earlier.)
*But really, thank you for reading this whole thing and not laughing in my face for not making any sense at all.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Michelle’s Notes of the Day:
-Remember to be grateful for what you have
-Don’t be afraid to spread love

Dare of the Day:
Tell someone you appreciate them.

3 responses to “Birthdays and Teenage Thoughts

Leave a Reply

